Members Benefits

Membership Provides:
  • a semi-annual newsletter
  • reduced fees to attend regional seminars and workshops
  • reduced fees to attend the annual meeting which is held throughout the state of South Dakota
  • legislative updates affecting the areas of solid waste, liquid waste, recycling and related topics
  • periodic special reports affecting legislation which will directly impact our members
  • free access to safety resources specific to the solid waste industry (return shipping charges only)
  • annual membership directory
  • an invaluable network of solid waste peers familiar with all aspects of the industry ready to share thoughts, ideas, specifications, ordinances, work plans and experience.
Meetings and Seminars

SDSWMA hosts two conferences each year and organizes special workshops as requested. The spring conference is held during late March or early April. The conference provides training to landfill operators, recycling facilities, restricted use site operators and garbage haulers on a rotating basis. The annual conference is held in September. It is organized like a trade show and focuses on all three branches of solid waste (recycling, landfilling and hauling) encouraging networking within the industry and regulatory updates.


SDSWMA produces a semi-annual newsletter, Material Matters. The newsletter provides advertising opportunities, information on the status of recycling throughout the state, regulatory updates, a calendar of events, status of meetings, and information of general interest pertaining to solid waste and recycling in South Dakota. All state legislatures are included in our newsletter mailings.

The incorporators of SDSWMA were: Terry Keller, Steve Pirner and Clark Haberman. The first year’s board of directors and officers included: Kelsey Alexander of the Paper Chase in Custer, Allan Arens of Arens Sanitation in Yankton, Morris Forsting of the Sioux Falls Public Health Department, A.A. Ray Hartman of the Pierre City Commission, William Huebner of Ace Steel and Recycling in Rapid City, Larry Mitzel of the Brown County Highway and Landfill Department in Aberdeen, Dorothy Neuhaus of the Clay County Recycling Center in Vermillion, Clark Sowers of Sowers Sanitation in Belle Fourche, and Bill Stoddard and Alderman from Parker. Bob McGrath of the Brookings Public Health Department was the President, Jerry Wright of the Rapid City Solid Waste Operations was the President-Elect, Joyce Ferris of Midwest Recycling in Huron was the Vice-President, and Mike Erickson of Dependable Sanitation in Aberdeen was the Secretary-Treasurer. The Executive Director position was contracted to Wasteline, Inc. (Deborah Barton, project manager) out of Rapid City. The first governing board met every two months. Now, the board meets quarterly. The November and January meetings are generally in Chamberlain or held by conference call. April and September meetings are held in conjunction with the spring and annual conferences. Refer to the Governing Board Directory listed on our home page for an up-to-date listing of board members and officers.

In January of 1994, the governing board of adopted the formal logo of the association. It reflects the diverse nature of the state with its pristine environment. The recycling arrows surrounding the state are also representative of the integrated nature of the solid waste and recycling industry in South Dakota and the branch structure of the association for collection, disposal and recycling. The association’s name often surrounds the logo.